Wedding Season is back in full effect!

23 Jun

As many of you know, I began assisting Drake (who is now my fiance) with his photography business, Drake Busch Photography, about a year and a half ago. I started out by lugging around all his equipment and fetching random gear…”hand me the scrim, light meter, telephoto lens, etc”.  This photography business was all foreign to me. After assisting on my first wedding, I just knew that there was no way, I’d be able to continue as his “gear fetcher” so I picked up a camera and began shooting. I had no idea how much hard work and creativity went into his job! Nor did I have any idea just how much fun it would be! He began teaching me little by little and I became his second shooter…my first actual wedding was in Costa Rica for Micah and Molly’s amazing wedding over a year ago. I’m no longer scared of the terms aperature “f” numbers, shutter speeds, ISO, etc. Don’t get me wrong, I still have a long way to go before I’m up there with the pros like Drake or Miles Witt Boyer or Dawn Sparks.

Through all of this I have found a true passion for weddings and marriage. I love seeing the gorgeous brides surrounded by their closest friends, all getting ready together. This is a time that they have that will be treasured forever…especially if they have all the photos to remember it by;) I love watching the grooms eyes light up when he sees the bride for the first time! It’s almost as though they really are seeing their future mate for the first time ever! I love watching the father of the bride tear up just before he walks his gorgeous daughter down the aisle and gives her away to someone that he can only hope will make her happy and provide for her for the next 50+ years. I love the endearing, sometimes hilarious best man speeches and imagining what they have been through with the groom over the years. I love the grandmas that get on the dancefloors with the flower girls and dance to the Cupid Shuffle. I love all the little details that go into a wedding to make it truly unique to each couple and I love being there to capture each and every one of these special moments! There are so many things about weddings that I love…I could literally go on for hours but I’ll spare you…for now:)

I want to say thank you to my incredible fiance and business partner, Drake, for allowing me the opportunity to be a part of such  an awesome adventure! And I want to say thank you to all our amazing couples who make our job truly remarkable!

I wish I could post more photos but Drake likes to hoard them all…so I will leave you with this one  from Crested Butte last weekend and hopefully I will be able to post more of my photos soon!

Mr and Mrs. DuPont!! This is truly an amazing couple from Dallas, TX and we were thrilled to have the opportunity to shoot their wedding. They were one of those couples, that you’re able to just look at and know that they will make it! Melina’s father said in his speech to the couple, they will make it because first and foremost, they have something that most couples are lacking, and that is a love for the Lord!

2 Responses to “Wedding Season is back in full effect!”

  1. Hannah Pobar June 23, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Oh my gosh this picture is absolutely stunning!! Ahh I swear you have the best job ever!

  2. Drake June 24, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    I love you Ashley. I cant imagine spending my days without you by my side. You are becoming quite the talented photographer and I look forward to shooting with you for years to come.

Leave a Reply

