72 days…

8 Mar

… our wedding website reminds me how many days until I’m reciting the vows, that I have yet to write, to my new husband on the west beaches of Gulf Shores, Alabama. I know that people say time flies when you’re having fun but really IT DOES! It seems like just yesterday, the ticker was at 445 days and we were selecting our colors…gray and yellow, in case you missed that post:)

Throughout this wedding planning process, not only have Drake and I become closer but I’ve discovered that he really cares. Of course he cares about me…but he also cares about our wedding. I hear so many girls refer to it as my wedding and sometimes they don’t take into account that their future husband is as much a part of the day as they are. It’s easy to lose sight of what the focus of the day should be, which is you, together as a couple, becoming one. I’ll be the first to admit that I like things my way so it’s been tough to relinquish the reigns at times but I’ve found that by doing this it shows my respect to Drake and his opinions. And yes…sometimes his ideas are much better than mine…sometimes. It makes me happy to know that he cares about the shape of the stand for the centerpieces and the shade of gray for the table runners and the positioning of the cake table in relation to the DJ and the pattern on the cupcake wrappers and …you get the point. Even though he may not realize it, he has been a part of every decision in this process and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I know that our focus may shift at times but I try to never lose sight of the fact that this day is truly representative of us and our love for one another. 

We cannot wait to celebrate our love for one another as well as our love for all of our friends and family in 72 days on the sugar sand beach…

Leave a comment